New DxO Photolab user (ex Lightroom user) - My thoughts after a week

I’m a new DxO Photolab user (for about a week). I had been using Lightroom for 8 years prior. Here are my thoughts:

1. Wow, the Lens Sharpness (sharpening) and Prime Noise Reduction is just incredible. It puts Lightroom to shame.
  2. I enjoy using DxO. I didn’t with Lightroom.
  3. It’s nice not having to use a catalog.
  4. I’m re-doing a lot of my old Raw files in DxO that i had previously done in Lightroom. Every single time when i compare the results the DxO versions are so much better.
  5. Editing an image in DxO is a lot faster.
  6. No subscription :slight_smile:
  7. I wish there was a way to nudge the crop rectangle left/right or up/down by a pixel at a time, i.e with the arrow keys.
  8. I wish with the automatic healing tool that if it samples from an area that doesn’t give a good result that you could tell it to chose an alternative source.

Those are my initial thoughts after a week of testing.

8 Likes

Welcome! I’ve been a PhotoLab user for 18 months. I agree completely with points 1 to 6. It is almost like you’ve read my mind from when I was a new user. I left Lightroom shortly after acquiring PhotoLab. I have never regretted it and have never looked back. With regard to your point regarding cropping, that is a good suggestion but I doubt it will happen anytime soon. Finally with regard to the healing tool, there has been a lot of discussion regarding the need for a clone tool which would work as you suggest. I believe its on DXO’s backlog. Finally,If your don’t have DXO Viewpoint, the perspective tool, you also might want to consider acquiring it.

Mark

2 Likes

Endorsing Mark’s recommendation - - ViewPoint is a very powerful tool … and, when you own both PhotoLab & ViewPoint, VP is installed as a fully integrated component within PL (such that I never actually use VP in stand-alone mode).

Here’s a before & after example;

Regards, John M

2 Likes