What is a "Project"?

I’ve been using DxO Photolab for about 2 months now… I really like it in many ways, and am getting settled into ways of using it with my older file organization system. The biggest thing I’m not understanding so far is “projects”.

So… Can someone tell me what a “project” is? How is it different from a folder full of photos? What benefit is there to making a “project” vs. just having a folder called “20230117_ZooVisit”?

Thanks in advance.

Hi welcome on this forum.

A project is a “virtual folder”.
You can make a project in two ways.

1 internal by creating a project and select in the dxo library your photo’s who you want in this group.
2 by , atleast with AdobeBridge, select a group of photo’s and send them towards dxopl.

Afterwards you can add or delete images in this project.
(deleting doesn’t delete your image but only the virtual thumbnail inside the project.)

Main use is every time you like to work on images which are seated in different folders you don’t need to copy them towards a new folder in order to have them visible in one place.
And an other advantage is that your edit state of the photo in the original folder isn’t touched when you re-edit inside the project. All images inside the project are Virtual Copy’s.
(a virtual copy is like a frozen moment of your editted masterphoto, from this point you can edit or reset or apply a filter close the program and open after a week and your master isn’t changed.
Best use is trying allkinds of edit’s and choose from x amount of VC’s which is your favorite. Then delete all not needed VC’s and by copy paste all adjustments towards the master you have again one edit.

4 Likes