Sharpening in DxO PL. New user question:

Hi. I’m a fairly new user (1 week). Can i ask if i’m doing the sharpening to Raw files correctly.

I understand through reading the online help file that the 1st steps to sharpening a Raw image is to use the Lens Sharpness tool which uses the info in the downloaded module to sharpen the image. It sharpens the areas more where the lens is softest and less where it’s sharpest. The result should be a uniformly sharpened image across the image.

Now, I’ve been using Lightroom for many years and the results the DxO Lens Sharpness tool gives is incredible, much better than the Lightroom sharpening tool which introduces artefacts and hugely antagonises the results from the noise reduction tool. If i understand correctly i can just leave the DxO Lens Sharpness slider at its default position of zero which lets DxO decide how much sharpening is needed & where.

So if all that being true can i just click to turn on the Lens Sharpness tool, leave it at default and the sharpening is just done? That seems too easy but the results look very good every time. Do i actually have to bother touching the unsharp mask tool at all (which if i understand correctly is for use if there’s not a module available for that camera/lens combo)?

Thanks.

2 Likes

Yes, amazingly(!) that’s all you need to do, Paul. Via the Optics Module for your {body+lens} combo, PhotoLab understands how much sharpening is required.

Even better, you don’t even need to “click to turn on the Lens Sharpness tool” - if you’re using the “DxO Standard” auto-preset then this will be turned-ON for you, automatically … Or, if you’re using your own auto-Preset then you can include this as a standard setting.

No, you don’t need to apply the Unsharp Mask tool - - Your understanding is correct; it’s just there as a fall-back tool (- - or if you wish to apply some global-sharpening for some image-specific reason).

Regards, John M

2 Likes