reduced resolution in <70% viewing?

Sorry if this has already been discussed, I am a newbie here.

With both PL4 and now PL5 I observe that viewing images at 70% or less results in significantly reduced resolution. Is that something wrong with my setup? So far as I am able to judge it does not affect exports, it’s just annoying as I think I have a less that sharp image.

This caught me out when I first started too. They do it on purpose - you have to zoom to >75% to see the details, and even then it doesn’t show DeepPrime NR apart from in the little window in the palette.

It’s on p168 of the manual!

• Sharpness: sharpens or reduces the sharpness in the adjustment mask. To check the results on the screen, zoom in to at least 75%.

In addition to Prime and DeepPrime NR you also can not see the effects of Lens Sharpness, Chromatic Aberration correction or Unsharp Mask when your magnification level is below 75%. Try this: At fit to screen zoom level slide the Global Lens Sharpening up to about 1.0, then zoom to 100% to see the W :flushed: W factor.
Think your photo is not sharp? Think again. :grin:

1 Like

Thanks. It is a bit of a revelation to see the photos at 75% just spring in to sharpness. I guess we jut have to get used to it

tom

It’s either that or have to wait longer for an image to fully render every time you make a change at a lesser magnification :wink:

What’s needed is a rendered preview we can work on. When we select DeepPrime there should be an option to render a preview we can then use to do the rest of the processing. As of now, especially with high ISO images with noise, which is where DeepPrime shines, when for instance we apply a FilmPack preset with grain, what’s on screen is SOOO far off from what will render, that it’s just not workable.

Export to DNG NR and Optical Corrections Only. Then continue editing on the DNG.

1 Like