Need advice on where to put the money on a new pc for DXO

Hello from a newbie here.
My old 4.gen i5 spends over 3min to do the Deep prime, so I plan to upgrade to a mid-range laptop more suitable for that. A laptop this time.
As there is acceleration from graphics acc., I assume the right thing to buy is a gaming PC.
Then comes the question where to put the money. I don’t need the gamers fast screen update. For a reasonable amount of money I can get a RTX3060 over a RTX1050 graphics, with over double the calculation power. Does that translate into double deepprime speed? Is my assumption correct that the graphics power x2 is more important than getting this years processor over last years?
Is the a comprehensive benchmark somewhere?
TIA!

1 Like

I just bought the MSI Creator z16 with the RTX3060 GPU and have found it to be very good for DeepPrime. What I really liked about the model I got was the QHD screen in the golden ratio which gives you a taller screen ratio which works really well for photo editing.

This machine is slim and I will be using it for traveling.

This machine is designed for creators (photo and video editing). This machine is actually also very good for video editing.

I got a very good deal on the i9 version but I would have been very happy with the i7 version too. Do get 32Gb RAM and at least 512Gb disk. I use an external USB-C SSD disk for my photos with no performance issues.

1 Like

MSI Creator Z16 vs. Dell XPS 17 | Digital Trends

1 Like

Thanks Keith!
I asked the question a week ago, but it got through moderator approval now.
Since then I have bought a Lenovo legion5 15" gaming PC for photo editing and non-critical not-work use. It is 1/3 the price of the really nice PC you 've bought.
The PC has Ryzen5 5xxx, RTX3060 6Gb, 16Gb, 512Gb, important to pick the 165Hz screen as it is full sRGB. Unfortunately only 1080 resolution, but I’m normally using an external screen.