Help with High Resolution Images

Hi everyone. I really need some help. I am relatively new to PhotoLab. I have been asked to submit a high resolution image for a photo contest. Can someone help me with the settings to export the highest resolution file I can? What size and resolution do I use? Do I check enable resizing? What about the other settings sun as interpolation and ICC? Any help would be appreciated. I need to submit the image in a couple of days. I think they also want the original raw file. How do I submit that? Thanks for any tips?

For a start - Congratulations, Paul … Your image must be a very good one !

See the Export to Disk options;

Have you been asked for a JP(E)G or a TIF(F) file ?

• If a JP(E)G - then set “Quality” to 100%
  • If a TIF(F) - then make it 16 bit

The “Resolution” setting will not impact image quality.

Do NOT enable “Resizing” … that’s for down-sizing (or up-sizing) your image - which won’t help the image quality.

For the ICC-Profile; I’m pretty sure they will want an image defined by the sRGB~ profile.

You may wish to un-select some of the “Include” options - if you don’t want details about your image (such as EXIF data) to be included in the exported image.

Providing the “original RAW file” is just a matter of providing the file produced from your camera.

Good luck with the competition …

An aside for others reading this;

• Paul’s question led me to trying-out up-sizing an image (I specified a bigger number for “Longest Side” than the image’s actual width, in pixels) … and, to my surprise, PL exported a larger file !!

Nice of “them” to ask…but what does “high resolution” mean? Are they thinking of pixel dimensions, pixels per inch, something else?

atto. @Doucer1 : Better ask first, or you risk to put some effort in a “wrong” result…

1 Like

Honestly, I think “they” just don’t want strongly compressed and downsized JPGs. They could have asked for full-size exports.