Free Sharpener Pro works in XnView MP!

I had an installation of the free download of DxO Nik Collection lying around which I didn’t use because I didn’t have any of the officially supported host applications. But then I started playing with free XnView MP image viewer, and saw that it can host Adobe Photoshop plugins. I thought about Nik… and yes, Sharpener Pro works! Color Efez crashes after I start it within XnView, but Sharpener Pro works :slight_smile:

But you know, that you do not need a host application to use the NIK tools? Just create a shortcut to, lets say Viveza, on your desktop or in your task bar and drag drop a photo on the shortcut icon.

3 Likes

jawdrop

Why isn’t that written in BIG BOLD LETTERS at the beginning of every Nik tool doc? It’d increase the sales a lot. All that time I was under the impression that I can’t use them because I don’t have a compatible host application. Marketing / sales fail.

Yes, and if you have PhotoLab, you can “Export to Application”, where you can select a NIK tool to take over the output file from PL. For the case you want to apply some after effects for example.

2 Likes

They won’t open raw format but do work with jpeg and tiff format. That’s why you kind of need a host, or really just a software to start the processing.

Seriously, this should be documented better. I was not aware at all of those options. Thanks for the info!

Note to: @sgospodarenko - See above …

Looks like there’d be benefit in Marketing taking this on, and making this capability more widely known.

Regards, John M

PS. More on this capability here: Accessing NIK collection plug-ins from host applications

I looked at it just now. It’s not exactly what I need, because it doesn’t allow to resize the output before passing it to the external program. So I still need to export to file, and then open the JPEG in NIK Sharpener.

1 Like

OK, I’m curious … Why would you want or need to do that ?

John M