Why is PL2 so slow?

On some sliders it takes unto 8 seconds for results to show.
Could it be that my computer is at the bottom of the minimum requirements?
iMac (Retina 5K, 27-inch, Late 2015)
3.2 GHz Intel Core i5
32 GB 1867 MHz DDR3
AMD Radeon R9 M380 2048 MB

2 Likes

I am not an expert on this but I do not think so. I have an imac late 2012, 16 RAM. And is is quite fast.
Have you contacted support already?

My specs are:

iMac, Late 2012, 27 inch
2,9 GHz, Intel Core i5
OS-Sierra
16 GB RAM
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 660M 512 MB

Not yet…

I have an iMac mid-2011, 27" w/ high end specs. PhotoLab adjustments are near instant for me.

My images are 12-20 MB (Raw).

The differences may be in the processor and graphics card.

Indeed. I have a Core i7 3.4 GHz; AMD Radeon HD 6970M 1024 MB; 16 gigs of RAM.

The Corei7 is definitely a step up. The GPUs are pretty close. You have more RAM.
Much higher res screen.

I believe RAM & CPU are the largest influencers with PhotoLab for manipulation of an on screen image.

Still, whatever the ultimate balance of the hardware’s affect, I would not have expected a 1 second vs 8 second differential (assuming image pixel count is similar).

With a 5K 27 inches screen, you may be often over 75% of zoom with your image.

In that case, DPL is working at full detail resolution (except Prime), and this may take long, depending of your image size.

2 Likes

Same machine here, but with 24 Gigs of RAM.

The performance issue that bugs me most is documented here:
https://forum.dxo.com/t/dpg-gui-sequence-issue/6685

Plus: Boring lag between pushing a slider and visibility of the effect. Lr Classic CC is snappier!

2 Likes

I have tried several of these RAW converters and they all have their individual issues running on my Mac.
Seems like the only solution is to buy a new computer with maxed out specs just to run the software.:wink: