Why are there no correction modules for iPads?

Please pardon my NOOB to this forum. I’m a DxO Optics Pro/PhotoLab user since 2007, with hundreds of thousands of processed images. I understand the workflow and the concept of correction modules for body/lens combinations.

What I don’t understand is why there are no/none/ZERO correction modules for photographs taken with iPads (using the internal camera/lens). There are correction modules for 14 iPhones, including the current models. Why hasn’t DxO made correction modules for any iPads?

Any why is there ZERO mention of this rationale ANYWHERE on DxO’s website or documentation? It’s as if “iPad” is the “Voldemort” of DxO’s Harry Potter remake.

I’m not asking for a native iOS version of Photolab… My Mac handles that fine. But without camera modules for the iPad, I’m having a hard time seeing the continued relevance of PhotoLab (or any DxO software) in my Architectural/Construction Survey work.

I get that DxO might not want to cannibalize One sales. If that’s the reason to ignore the iPad, DxO needs to stop believing their own PR hype. For field work, I need a tablet in a rugged case without any additional protrusions. And it helps if it doesn’t look like a camera, because most of the pictures I take are of things that will become problems/rework items for the people that are letting me walk around the jobsite in the first place. Low-profile photography is MUCH better in these situations.

Hello @BombarderoLoco,

Welcome to our forum! Let’s address you question about the support of iPad to @Marie.

Regards,
Svetlana G.

@BombarderoLoco,

first let me ask you a question, a lens correction profile for iPad would be interesting if you shoot RAW images, do you ?
If not, images from the iPad don’t need any correction, actually it would do more damage than good.

For now we don’t have iPads in our planning, we might reconsider it but it won’t be right now.

Regards,
Marie

2 Likes