Virtual Copy Confusion

I created a virtual copy of an image, so I ended up with two versions, identified as virtual copies 1 and 2. I later deleted virtual copy 2, but now I’m stuck with a single virtual copy (identified with a number 1 in a rounded square at bottom left of the thumbnail). How do I remove the virtual copy designation?

To be honest, I find PL’s implementation of virtual copies confusing. In Lightroom, I have a master image plus any virtual copies I create. In PL once I create a single virtual copy I no longer have a master image. I also don’t appear to have any way of renaming the virtual copies to indicate their purpose like I do in Lightroom. Why not just follow LR’s approach to virtual copies, which intuitively makes sense?

2 Likes

I’m a Windows user and that problem does not occur in my version. Perhaps its a Mac issue only and someone will chime in with whether this is a known issue or one specific to your setup.

Mark

Drdul,
The other day I ran into a similar problem - how was I to know which version was which? Here is what I did. After making the VCopy, I right clicked (cmd+left click) and found “rename on disk” in the contextual menu that pops out. Rename that file so you know what it is, and it will change in the library. No problem. Hope that helps. BTW…I have a similar problem with LR also, especially if I use more than one plug-in. I don’t remember the sequence my flow went, but that is another story and my personal problem. :slight_smile: Cheers!

Is it possible that accidentally you clicked on the red “Reject” icon of the copy #2 and now it is just hidden by the filter?

Try to reset the filters. Try to change to another folder and back. Try to restart the application.

I use PL1 on a Mac but haven’t seen this issue so far.

1 Like

Hi @drdu - - Actually, it’s quite simple …