This image cannot be processed

As of today, I have started to receive the message ‘this image cannot be processed because of an unknown error. It may be corrupted or in an unsupported format.’

I keep a copy of all my photos on my D drive and then make a copy of all my RAWs on OneDrive. Photolab always downloads a copy of the files to my local C drive when I start to edit them. But that is no concern - I just like to have two local and one cloud copy of all my photos.

I’ve been storing my photos like this for a couple of years and never a problem until today when I get the message I’ve just mentioned. It’s not on every file but on over 50% of them and I cannot find a difference between those which display ok and those which don’t.

The files are not corrupted - (a) because I can view them in other programs and (b) because if I make another copy of them PL can read them.

As I say, although the photos are on Onedrive, they are all available on my local drive and so there is no reason I can think of for them suddenly refusing to display.

Perhaps they’ll be ok again tomorrow.

But if someone can explain the behaviour (or give me a fix) then I would be grateful.

Best wishes
Malcolm

Can you give us a lot more detail? One image? All? Which platform?. etc

Mark

I suggest you search this forum using “image cannot be processed”; there are lots of posts.

1 Like

@jamhen2 @mwsilvers

Re your comments, I had pressed the ‘post’ button before typing my full message. I’ve given far more information now, but (thank you) you didn’t have sufficient information (my fault) to answer.

Gut feeling: Corrupted database.

Fix: Point PhotoLab to an empty folder/directory, then quit PhotoLab. Rename the database files and the cache folder, then restart PhotoLab and point it at a local folder/directory. Do you still get the error messages?

@platypus
Yes, thank you - a corrupt database seems to have been the problem. Looks like it’s all fixed now.