The sequence of edits - does it matter?

I’m working with the trial version of PL5 (Windows). I have some image editing experience with several applications but still have a lot to learn. One thing that I’d like to understand is whether the order of edits can affect the quality of the final result. I do mostly nature photography and my editing needs will vary but are currently pretty straightforward: crop, exposure/highlights/shadows, sharpening and noise reduction. So what order to do these adjustments? I usually crop first so that I have the image content that I want to work on. But is that the first thing that should be done? Or noise reduction first? Or…?

If I’m not mistaken I think some software (darktable?) will buffer the edits and apply them in a set order when ‘developed’. I don’t know if that’s the case with PL.

Any feedback would be appreciated.

The order you make the edits is irrelevant, PL applies them in the necessary order.

The sequence of edits doe NOT matter from a technical point of view, but it can matter for workflow “economics”.

Technically, DxO implements the sequence in which your changes will be applied during customising and export, as @stuck notes above.

Imagine editing an image and after a while, you decide to change colour rendering, e.g. to apply a custom DCP profile. This can make all your previous edits obsolete or nonsensical, depending on how great the impact of that profile was.

There is one thing you need to be aware of when it comes to order and that is when applying presets.

Presets come in two main flavours - partial and full.

A partial preset will only contain certain adjustments - basically it is a “batch” of adjustments all applied at the same time. PL Elite allows you to create your own partial presets, that will allow you to do a certain set of adjustments so, if you always tend to do the same series of adjustments, these can come in useful.