Spyder v X-rite

Hi all,

I am new to DXO and have found a video on Datacolour Spyder. Will DXO do everything as shown in this video? Is there one more compatible with DXO (spyder v x-rite) or are they both similar.

Thanks Brenden

PhotoLab can’t be used to create profiles.

1 Like

I am lost. How do we use colour checkers with DXO if we cannot create profiles?

Having watched the video, possibly.

Using PL you will be able to set the colour temp, white and black points from a shot of the colour checker card and then export that image (but maybe not seamlessly) to the Spyder software. Assuming the profile that the Spyder software then creates is a DCP profile then there is an option in PL5 to use such a profile. However I think PL6 has a problem with DCP profiles.

I hope someone else with real world experience can clarify / add more details.

Hi there, found this video on you tube using PL and x-rite colorchecker without any Adobe SW.
No testing on PL6, I don’t own the colorchecker passport chart. Hope this will help.

1 Like

I get the impression that we have to approach the topic more precisely…

• Datacolor Spyder is a device that is used for monitor calibration.
    This requires specific software like the one that comes with the device or e.g. DisplayCal.

• A Color Checker (X-Rite and Calibrite) is used for camera calibration.
    To create profiles that can improve colour rendition in applications that support the use of .dcp profiles like DxO PhotoLab, another specific software is needed: Color Checker Camera Calibration, which is available here.

• For end-to-end custom profiling, we’d also need something that allows printer calibration.
    Both Calibrite and X-Rite offer respective products, often bundled with the items mentioned above.