Some advice regarding metadata needed

Hi there!

I’m new to Photolab 5 (running 5.2 on Windows 10) and often get in troble with metadata. I usually use an outdates Lightroom 6.14 to cull images and to set metadata. While doing that I convert all images to DNG files. The advantage of that (at least for me): All metadata is stored inside the DNG file instead of having an xmp sidecar file, too.

When I edit these DNG files in PL5 everything works according to plan. PL5 does see all metdata I previously entered in Lightroom. But if I alter the metadata in PL5, nothing gets written to the metadata section in the DNG file (despite having “always sync” switched on). Also, no xmp sidecar file is created by PL5. All edits are just stored in PL5’s database. In the end, all metadata edits are wasted as Lightroom can’t see any of them. Is this expected behaviour?

In contrast, If I do not convert my images to DNG, PL5 reads and writes metadata in xmp sidecars. And thereby exchanging metadata between the two apps becomes possible. That is nice, but im my case DNG files are preferred over NEF files. Is there something I am missing? Any option in PL5’s settings that allows such a DNG based workflow?

Best,
Volker

I just ran a test.

I setup a DNG file with hierarchical keywords, using my own external software and then opened it in PL5.

If this checkbox is ticked, then metadata should automatically be updated when you make changes in PL5.

If it is not ticked, in order to see the metadata, you will need to

1. read them manually from the file…

Capture d’écran 2022-04-10 à 18.35.35

or respond to the out of sync icon…

Capture d’écran 2022-04-10 à 18.39.57

Capture d’écran 2022-04-10 à 18.43.25

2. write them manually after having changed it in PL5

Capture d’écran 2022-04-10 à 18.44.35

This will then make them visible to other apps.

Hi Joanna!

Thanks for taking the time to run a test. But your result leaves me puzzled.