Soft proofing

Good afternoon. I am new to PhotoLab and just finding my way around. So far I am very happy with it and find it very straightforward to use. I have a question on soft proofing and apologise in advance if I have missed something obvious. I have taken a raw image, processed it and exported to a 16 bit TIFF so I can check against other pipelines. I then enable soft proofing and load in the ICC profile for my printer and paper combination from the paper manufacturer. I then do a gamut check from the histogram panel and make adjustments as necessary, set the intent and print the image. Have I done this correctly? I am puzzled by the soon to be enabled ā€˜Simulate paper and inkā€™. Havenā€™t I just achieved that? Many thanks.

Unfortunately, someone in DxOā€™s marketing department must have decided it was a good idea to sell a version of PL that has an unimplemented feature? A bit like selling you a Ferrari and telling you that the steering wheel will be delivered at some time in the future. Itā€™s no good complaining because you have the car you paid for and the steering wheel will be free when it arrives :roll_eyes: :crazy_face:

4 Likes

Hi Dennis and welcome,

I think that DxO intends to supply their own ā€œPaper and inkā€ profiles a la camera and lens profiles. If you already have one then you are a step ahead of them(you got your steering wheel from a third party source in @Joanna analogy above. It may not be Ferrari but you can still steer the car with it. :rofl: )

1 Like

Well, that could be interesting when you look at the multiplicity of papers and inks there are around.

I have been creating my printer profiles for years - it doesnā€™t take long and, if I change paper, I donā€™t have to wait for anyone else to create one for my particular printerā€™s ink. That kind of situation would end up with us having to wait while DxO gets around to testing all those possible combinations. As it is, they take long enough to support new cameras and lenses.