Restoration of scanned old photos

Good evening to you,

I just spent the past weeks scaning litteraly THOUSANDS of family pictures that are of 30 - 50 years old. As you can imagine, the colours of a lot of them were a lot damaged / yellowed by storage / sun.

My question is, for the experts, would you recommend a workflow or automatic filter to recover the colours quality with PhotoLab ?

Thanks a lot for the help,

There is nothing automatic. There is no magic bullet. Just hard work.

5 Likes

Good morning @Yakawar ,
I agree with Joanna even though I am not an expert :grinning:
Five or six years ago I own a Nikon Coolscan V Scanner and scanned a lot of slides and negatives with photos from my family. I used both the Nikon software and Vuescan as I got better results.
The Nikon scanner had the possibility to restore colours as well as to remove dust and scratches. I don’t remember the name of the process, but it sometimes gave good results.
I sold the scanner at some point, archived the Tif files and experimented with them from time to time or even created a small booklet for my mother.
When a friend asked me if I could scan slides for him, I bought the Plustek OpticFilm 135i after reading the review on https://www.35mmc.com/04/05/2021/plustek-opticfilm-135i-35mm-film-scanner/.
Again, I experimented with the original software and Vuescan. My friend then scanned his slides with the original software because it was more comfortable and easier for him…
I then tried post-processing with DXO, Affinity Photo and finally with Topaz products. Since they weren’t my own photos, I didn’t invest that much time, but as Joanna said, it takes a lot of work.
My friend wants to start work in the autumn, and we will probably invest a little more time in finding a workflow for him.