Request: FilmPack Preview in Photolab

Hi,
I’m new in DxO - come from LR. When opening PL I find in PL the settings for Filmpack only (see left picture) - but no PresetPreviews like when opening FP direct (right picture). This would a nice feature to get an idea how “this film” look like…

This would be nice!
Thank you
Tom

You can save your own presets based on FilmPack corrections in DPL.
You will also have a preview.

Pascal

I won’t save my own there (I know this) - if I go the FP palette - it would be nice if there are all FilmPack Previews like if I open FilmPack standalone. With a Checkbutton to view or unview or something else would be perfect.

2 Likes

Hi Tom,

Your observation had me intrigued for a while - but I eventually figured it out.

1. The FilmPack-equivalent Designer Presets are available from within PhotoLab - as shown below:
    Note: They’re split into groupings of B&W and Color … See 6 & 7
  • They’re provided as Partial Presets, as they impact more than one PL setting (eg. Color Rendering & Grain and also, perhaps, Vibrancy, etc, etc) - but, without changing any other settings that you may have previously applied.
  1. The other “Presets” available in FilmPack are not actually presets in the way that this concept is used in PhotoLab … they are simply "Color renderings".
  • … this differentiation is evident (tho rather subtly, I agree) in the FP filter …
    DxO_FPFilter

• FP’s “Designer presets” check-box (with Color and B&W refinements) correlates to the PL preset groupings shown above (6 & 7).

• FP’s “Legacy films” check-box (with Color and B&W refinements) correlates to the Color rendering tool in PL … All the same legacy film types seem to me to be there - but not in exactly the same groupings.
    DxO_ColorRender

1. So, to emulate the process that you might use in FP (by clicking on each option in the Preset browser, one by one, to see the effect on the image) - - in PL you achieve the same result this way;