Repair Tool Shape

I’ve been using PhotoLab 2 for a couple of months now and I am really enjoying the results. However I have been scratching my head over something for the entire time so I’ve finally decided to ask about it.

When I use the repair tool to click on a dust speck or other small imperfection sometimes the resulting shape will be round, other times it’s a diamond. Why is that?

Thanks in advance for any light you may shed on this mystery.

I have been using Photolab Elite since it was first released towards the end of 2017. I have also used the repair tool hundreds of times, usually to paint out medium and small sized objects, not just dust, or imperfections, and I have never once seen it turn into a diamond. Perhaps others can shed some light on this.

Mark

Thank you for the reply Mark. It’s the resulting mask shape that’s sometimes a diamond.

I’ve attached a screenshot of an example of this.

repair%20diamond

That is just weird. I have never seen anything like that after a year-and-a-half of using PhotoLab almost every day, and the hundreds of times I’ve used the repair tool. Maybe there’s a feature that I am not aware of. All I ever see are resizable transparent circles. I can’t imagine what the advantage of the solid colored diamonds would be. Are you on a Mac or a PC?

Mark

Mark I’m using a Windows 10 PC and PhotoLab Elite version 2.2.3 with the ViewPoint 3 plugin.

Well I’m glad I’m not the only one who’s confused by this. Everything seems to work just fine I just don’t understand why the masks are sometimes round, sometimes, square, and sometimes diamond shaped.