Remove straw from photo

I am a newbie in PL6 elite (coming from LR) and need some advice to remove a straw from a picture…I have tried the retouch tool, but I am not quite happy with result… I suspect this is mostly due to my lack of experience with PL6. My question is to the more experienced users - is PL6 capable of doing a good job removing the straw??

1 Like

[quote=“thomasev, post:1, topic:31279”]
Sorry for the purists, but I find the photo very beautiful like this.

This took me a few minutes in PhotoLab 6.2. It was a quick and dirty effort and I could have gotten much cleaner results if I had spent a bit more time at it and had the original raw file to work with instead of a low res 163kb jpeg. Some of it was removed with repair, other parts with clone. modifying smaller pieces. I used around 10 or so adjustments altogether and rotated a a couple of them and feathered a couple. It is far from perfect but I just wanted to give you an example of what could be accomplished quickly.

Mark.

8 Likes

Same here, I’d cut some of the right edge off though. The straw will then “close” the image.

Remove the straw in smaller pieces. Try the repair and clone tools and use them to paint over the straw either going in the same direction of the straw or at a more or less right angle of that direction.

Learning a tool is best done by using it in different manners, which should also provide clues on how to fix different issues.

1 Like

Thank you very much, I will try it myself utilizing your advice…

I do agree, but I have more than 100 pics of the White throated dipper and I have just started to learn PL6… For this picture I would like to remove straw for learning how to use PL6…

1 Like

It takes some practice and an understanding of the various tools and their limitations.

Mark

2 Likes

@thomasev sorry, I have a lot of respect for PhotoLabs but consider the tools required to remove the straw, which like others I would leave, as next to useless in PhotoLab.