Please can you update the software version to be unique for each version update file

I’m new to PhotoLab, but I find it surprising and a house-keeping rookie mistake to inform me/us that there is an new update but that update filename is the same as the previous filenames I’ve been downloading???

If there is an update (eg 3.2), at least name the file with a suffix that is the same as that actual version number. Don’t just keep the filename generic, leaving it to your users to have to rename a filename when they will have NO idea what the version number actually is (you would know that)…

Quite simply, I find it lazy and sloppy.

3 Likes

Agreed

Has happened for years.

It certainly isn’t rocket science nor hard to do either

2 Likes

Since the V6.3 the version is indicated in the property of the file.
This is the case for all DXO software, PL was the last where the version was not indicated.

well… that doesn’t look like this on a Mac, files are like: dxo_photolab5.dmg or replace the 5 by the version you have.

It is I who renamed them according to the version number which is in the properties of the file.
The name of the downloaded file is dxo_photolab6_setup.exe

Yes, this has been previously asked for. I remember that the change was implemented for a short time and then retracted. You can add your vote here:

1 Like

I download the installer for macOS as soon as DPL tells me that an update is pending. After download, I add the version and build numbers to the filename and keep an arbitrary number of installers for supported versions.

We can always download the current version from the website or shop account. The download URL can be found in the info window (command-I) of the downloaded file(s). Add these URLs as bookmarks. They will be usable as long as DxO does not change something.

1 Like

I do something the same. But I wonder if using an older setup also results in an older version of pl. I never tried it.

George