PL2 settings in regard to trialling PL3

Hi all

I have downloaded PL3 but before installing it I would welcome some insights?

In another thread hereabouts there was mention of the way PL3 imports the PL2 database and ‘works with PL2 sidecar files’.

In PL2 my Preferences are ticked for:-
Processing
Preserve Metadata in XMP sidecar files

Corrections Settings
Save Settings in sidecar files
Load Settings from sidecar files

Now wishing to keep the ability to use PL2 whilst trialling PL3 and indeed afterwards if/when I buy PL3 what Preference Settings should I be aware of in PL2 and also PL3 to keep PL2 safe for further use as & when needed??? Also, any advice about the Database backup as appropriate?

TIA for any replies :slight_smile:

Hello Laurence,

in PL3 just tick the setting “Read sidecar files” and untick “Write sidecar files” for both preserve Metadata and also for procession settings. Once you are are happy with PL3 just turn all settings on which you want.
Once PL3 converts sidecar files from PL2 you can not read them anymore in PL2 BUT the database of PL2 with all its settings will stay and keep all the changes.

My recommendation for testing PL3 would be:

  • Create a “Testing folder” and copy over a few folders from your original picture folder structure
  • Work with PL3 only within the “Testing folder” and never touch your normal picture folders with PL3
  • After testing, just delete the “Testing folder” and all will be good.
  • delete the database of PL3

By doing the above you never run the risk of inadvertently messing with your PL2 sidecars.

Sigi

2 Likes

You mean creating XMP-files before opening in DPLv2 (or now v3)?
if so this stays the same, for now, DPL is read only at this moment for XMP’s. So no worries there.
See manual: “Allows the application to process and export your RAW images while using metadata previously stored in an XMP-format file alongside the input image (e.g., metadata created by a program such as Adobe Bridge).” It only reads them.

Indeed what Sigi said:
But one safety step more.
1 create a folder in every image folder called “Sidecare backup”
2 copy all sidecars in there per folder-content. (Now you have persevered/back upped the v2 sidecars in there latest state. )
3 install DPLV3 go to preferences and uncheck the "save settings in sidecar file (.dop) automaticlly)
and if you like you can uncheck “load settings…” in V2 to keep your V2 Database in effected from changing sidecars by V3.)
No your safe to fool around without changing your work.
(DPLv3 generates new/or modify sidecars in every folder you are entering and if it does your backed up one’s arn’t seen or touched when you select “safe settings…” after a wile so your save for returning to pre V3 state by oeverwriting the sidecars with your back upped ones if you need.)
(i do this for all my archived rawfiles creating a timestamp backup sidecars so when i am having a issue i just use this backup .)

And indeed select some test images copy them in a “testing v2 against v3” and you can open this folder in both to do some editing without enter-fearing because the changes are inside the databases not effecting the sidecars.

After done testing your DPLV3 delete the database and check the preferences according to your liking.
(you can preserve editing in two way’s;
1- turn on “save settings” to overwrite all sidecars all opend folders.
2 select your images your want generate some sidecars for and use : File => sidecars => export
This way you preserved your work on those when you delete the v3 Database.

Have fun!
And you have a fresh setup for migrating to v3.