PhotoLab made me *love* photography

I’ve been meaning to write this for a while, and it may even become a blog post, but I thought I’ll get the basics down here.

I’ve been an enthusiast photographer since Christmas 1986 when I inherited my brother’s Cosina CS-1 SLR with Sigma 70-210 lens, literally in a camera shop in Singapore where he was buying his first Nikon. In true “grandfather’s axe” fashion, I still have the same camera today, though I have replaced the body five times and the lens, errr, a few more times than that.

In the film era (1986-2006 for me) I was happy if any photo “turned out” and very occasionally excited by a particularly good shot. When the digital era dawned for me in 2004 (with a Fuji S3000 all-in-one) not much changed except I started taking more photos. There was still very little that happened between taking the shot and “the result”.

When I first explored RAW photography, things got more interesting as there was a lot more leeway to make photos look “good”, though looking back I seem still to have done very little to the photos apart from fixing exposure and maybe cropping (only ever to the same 3:2 ratio — 4:3 for the Fuji — for many, many years).

I gradually learned more and more. I went through a series of software changes: Nothing → Lightroom → Aperture → Lightroom → Luminar 3/2018. But still all I was doing was basic “fixes” to my photos. Occasionally I would spend more time. Luminar was great for “pushing the envelope” to get some punchy results that weren’t strictly “accurate”. But it was Luminar’s failing — constant course changes in the product roadmap while breaking promises — that led me to look at PhotoLab 3. And that’s when photography began changing for me. It started to become something I love.