This is a major breaking change, but it also seems to happen intermittently.
In the editing view, if you create a virtual copy, nothing happens, so you do it again few times to see if it will work the next time - it doesn’t appear to.
If you then change to another directory and come back, you see several virtual copies have been created.
So, you multiple select all the superfluous copies and delete them. This then changes all the thumbnails to show an icon indicating that the image can no longer be found.
Once again, changing to another directory and returning “deleted” these false “files”
This is an urgent regression and needs fixing as a priority.