Photolab 2 Elite and Filmpack Elite

I am new to DXO software products, but I was impressed with trial versions I used after buying a DXO One camera, so I purchased the following last week

1. PhotoLab 2 Elite
  2. Nik Collection
  3. FilmPack Elite
  4. ViewPoint Elite

I thought I’d splash out and get everything, but Im still new to the software.

My question is, in standalone FilmPack I get nearly 100 presets, including presets for specific film stock etc.
However, when I try and use FilmPack within Photolab, I only get about 25 presets, and non of them are related to film stock

Why am I missing most of my FilmPack presets when I use it inside Photolab ?

Many thanks

Dean

Are you seeing the FilmPack 5 Elite license when you open PhotoLab?

Once you have Film Pack 5 running what you need is the Color Rendering palette.

Here’s what my core corrections look like. I usually choose Color Rendering second, right after fixing white balance, as every other change is affected by color rendering.

Let us know if you have any other questions after trying Color Rendering.

2 Likes

I understand his confusion. In FilmPack there are 121 presets, including those for the various film types, where you can get a preview of what your image will look like before selecting it. He was expecting to see those same presets in the PhotoLab plug-in. However, of course, with the plugin you only get the non-film type FilmPack presets. and have to select the film types from a list in Color Rendering, at you pointed out. Unfortunately,it is not very intuitive. And, of course, as a result the plug-in does not provide film type previews like the stand alone version does. For those not familiar with the effects all those different films types will have on their image, it may be a bit disappointing and more of a struggle deciding which film type to select. If someone wanted to, they could create a preset for each film type, but it would be a big effort.

Mark

3 Likes