Only Viveza works as a stand alone

Hello. I’m new to Photolab 2 and this forum but not to Nik, so I hope I’m posting in the right place. I’ve just purchased the intro offer: Photolab 2 Essential and NIk collection. I had previously the Google (paid for!) version of Nik and the entire suite worked well on RAW (NEF) files dragged from Explorer over one of the Nik icons, which then launched. Mildly irritated to find that of the new Nik collection, only Viveza works this way: all the others load a hugely pixelated, 0.0Mb thumbnail. I’m delighted with Photolab 2 and I like that I can launch Nik from within that and then into my preferred editor, Affinity Photo, but I’d like the flexibility of ‘drag and drop’. Thanks

Hi,

The Nik plugins cannot handle RAW files. They need a raster file (JPEG or TIFF). When you drag and drop a RAW file onto a desktop shortcut to one of the Nik executables, different things can happen depending on the RAW type. Normally, you should get an error message : unsupported file format. In no way the RAW data will be loaded into the plugin. Instead, the JPEG thumbnail embedded into the RAW file might be loaded. Depending on the definition of this thumbnail, the result might be acceptable (but certainly far from perfect) or just awful.

With Viveza, there’s no error message but what you open in the plugin is not the RAW data but the associated JPEG thumbnail.

Anyway, you should not drag and drop a RAW file onto a Nik plugin icon. Only TIFFs and JPEGs can be handled this way. This is not new. This has always worked this way. Just forget this idea.

3 Likes