NIK 5 crashing Lightroom

I have used NIK since the early Google days and never has it been so unreliable and constantly crashing. I am a prom wedding photographer and use NIK (ColorEFEX 5 and others) as a part of my workflow from Nikon D850 in Lightroom CC and back. I used to be able to select 20+ images, export direct to NIK as TIFF’s (as recommended) and process each image as I wanted then apply all back to LR. No problems with NIK 4. Now NIK 5 is a disaster. Yesterday bit took half a day to do just 27 images. Constant crashing. Even with just one image at a time. Sometimes I get the red screen flash then NIK dies. Other time LR to NIK just hangs and freezes - left it for half and hour once and nothing. Often when returning from NIK to LR - LR becomes unresponsive and I have to force quit to get it back again. I am on MacBook Pro 15" 2018), 2.6 GHz 6-Core Intel Core i7, 32 GB 2400 MHz DDR4 Ram, Radeon Pro 560X 4GB, macOS Monterey 12.5.1. 1TB SSD with lots of room.

I completely uninstalled NIK as per your instructions online - using Uninstall program and then the Terminal code as well. I also manually removed anything DXO, NIK and even checked for old Google NIK as well. Reinstalled and same issues. Tried switching on and off the GPU accelerations in LR and NIK - no change in behaviour.

Optimised the LR catalogue, emptied LR cache, increased LR cache to 100gb - all no effect.

I can see from a quick online search that this seems to be a common problem - do you have a fix??

3 Likes

I have exactly the same issues and have a different thread (Nik 5 Collection and Lightroom not working whatsoever). No need to read it. Basically, I’ve tried the works, except that I cannot seem to get the terminal code program (Nik Cleanup tool) to run - I keep getting messages that I’m not authorised to run it.