Newcomer looking at DXO Photolab 3 for Windows

Hello, I have read good reviews of Photolab 3 and will give the trial a try. I have very little knowledge of photo editing, and even less of RAW processing. I have got myself an OM-D E-M1X, and although the jpegs are pretty good from this camera, I know I should shoot in RAW, and now I am retired (with too many hobbies…) I think it is time to do so.

However I want the process to be as simple and straight forward as possible… I have now just got Adobe Photoshop Elements 2020, having previously bought (on the lower cost pre-release advanced order) Luminar 4 - which looked great, but along with many others when it was released, I found that the installer would not work on my desktop PC and although the alternative offline installer did work on my laptop (both recent and hi spec machines) - it would not run without crashing, so I abandoned and asked for a refund.

I am a little confused about PhotoLab 3 Elite edition and the NIC collection, does PhotoLab 3 Elite have the NIK Collection features built-in or do these also have to be bought separately to get the functionality? (which would make it a bit expensive for me).

Sorry if this is a stupid question.

No stupid question. In fact I believe DxO could be more clear in their messaging.

• PL3 Elite does not include the Nik collection.
  • Nik collection does include PL3 Essential.

Perhaps you find some of the video tutorials helpful to get started with PL3: https://www.dxo.com/dxo-academy/

Edit: And yes, you should shoot RAW to get the best from PL3 Elite!

1 Like

Sorry, but the Nik Collection (2.3 is the current release version) does not include PhotoLab 3 Essential. It includes PhotoLab 2.3 Essential.

1 Like

Thank you, I guess the way forward is to trial PL3, and if good for me buy it and then consider adding Nik Collection later.

1 Like

Hi Edmund,

Yes, definitely get yourself acquainted with PL before buying the Nik Collection.