New machine + New PL but slow

I have built a strong machine with
Intel I7 11th Gen
32 GB RAM
4 GB Nvidia 1650
SSD Evo 970 Samsung
+
purchased a licence for PL 5 (im new to PL)

But…
performance is heavy, very heavy.
When i switch to “Customize” it is starting to get heavy and when in local adjustments it is getting heavier the more i add adjustments.
Heavy means i have to wait 15-25 seconds to PL to render the changes.
is it the way you live with PL ?

Hello @refinali ,

You mean that you try to apply any local correction to one image and have to wait for 20 sec to see the result?

If your answer is yes, please get connected with support.dxo.com for the investigation.

Regards,
Svetlana G.

1 Like

OK i will, Thanks!!

1 Like

Temporarily i’m using an external hard drive (“WD Black”) as my photo library.
Nevertheless as i have already mentioned, my system drive is SSD (M.2)
Could it be that my photo storage (“WD Black”) is slowing down PL 5.1 performance ?
In my opinion, every photo that is being edited is copied to RAM which is fast enough - does it matters ?

@refinali,
Any external hard drive (especially a plattered disk) will be much slower when compared to a SSD. I’m sure you’ll find PL’s performnce dramatically improved using your m.2 over a 7200 RPM drive connected via USB.

I’m not sure you are right in this case…
i have copied some photos to a folder on the ssd and the results are same
i believe that every edited photo is done in RAM - not on HDD

What virus scanner are you using? One user reported that AVAST, I think, was slowing their system as you describe.

Hello @refinali,

You can get a hint of where the bottleneck is by checking the Performance tab of the Task Manager. If you see that your external drive has close to 100% active time, then you’re limited by its speed. On the other side, if you see the same for your CPU, then you’re limited by compute power.

Hi
I’m new to PL5 but not to computers…