New computer recommendation needed

I have a W7 machine and a bunch of accessories and programs that won’t run on W10. Replacing everything is beyond my budget. However, there may be a solution.

I plan to set up a LAN sharing the W7 PC with a W10 machine. The problem is the i5 and i7 field is crowded. Any recommendations for a new machine?

I’m a hobbyist. My interests are not commercial, only to make good photos a little better. My expenses are not deductible so cost is important.

Every new pc has win10 so determin budget search for fastest motherboard an cpu with reasonable good videocard. 4k supported?
Memory 8 16gb and ssd around 300-500gb OS drive , second normal 2TB hd for data.
Within this budget.

Buy a body which can be used for 5 til 7 years as workhorse. You will leave that win7 machine eating dust when the new pc is outrun that older win7 pc.
If budget is over run, cheaper videocard, still?, start with only ssd 500gb. Stil? Buy one 8gb memorybank and add later the other.

Peter,

Here’s the problem: I have W7 computer with all photo files on an EHD, a printer, Wacom pad, scanner and several editing programs (including Printshop, Picasa, CS3, PSE9 and PL) that work only in W7.

Solution #1: Replace everything; $$$$$$$$.
Solution #2: All the photo files are on an EHD. So, I plan to network the W7 machine, the EHD and a new W10 machine.

If I’m correct (I’m not too computer savvy), I should be able to edit in PL3 on the W10, export the file to the EHD, then open that file in one of the W7 programs and continue to edit.

It may be a little awkward, but I’m a retired hobbyist; I don’t have deadlines and I enjoy this.

I have found most hardware like printers etc that run on Win 7 will run on Win 10. The manufacturer may not support it (they want to sell you another one after all!) but they often still work…
Sometimes, if there is an issue, install the driver for Vista and that usually works.