.NEF too dark

I am seeing that my Nikon D7500 .nef are loading and thy are dark. It appears, and I am a novice so forgive if I get the terms wrong, that the left side, dark side of the histogram is getting compressed. I use a FLAT picture control. Capture NXD and Rawdigger are the closest to. Adobe LR is a little brighter and so is FastRawViewer. But DxO is by far the darkest. And I have disabled all adjustments that I can.
Perhaps I am missing something in DxO? Or is that a behavior of DxO?

Hello @wjgo and welcome to the Forum!

Could you, please, show us at least a screenshot to see what difference you are talking about? And could you, please also upload the original .NEF image to upload.dxo.com under your name (instead of support ticket number) and let me know when ready.

Regards,
Svetlana G.

I downloaded a jpg/raw pair of D7500 images and this is the default raw conversion in DXO compared to the jpg.

Why would you want to remove the default conversion settings?

Can you post examples?

Ian

You say you are new to all this - so let me explain some stuff.

The picture control settings on a Nikon camera are only relevant to jpeg images, not RAW ones.

What you see on the back of the camera is the jpeg rendition, according to the picture control settings in the menus - the NEF file may look nothing like that.

When you open a file in Nikon’s own software, it tries to render the image to match the jpeg preview that is embedded in the RAW file.

DxO doesn’t attempt to use the jpeg at all - instead, it just uses the RAW data, with its own adjustments, according to which preset you choose as the default in the preferences.

Therefore, it is up to you as to how you want the image to appear.

My advice is usually to use Smart Lighting to start with, which tends to “even out” the dynamic range, then start to play with other adjustments.

In short, DxO is not intended to replicate the jpeg version without being worked on. That is to be expected.

2 Likes