Moving Photolab to a new computer

My copy of Photolab is moving to a new home. It will be very happy there with more hard drive space, bigger screen and more RAM. Are there files that can be moved from the old computer to the new that will make the transition easier?

Which OS are you using on your old and new computers? Windows or macOS?

@Raybun

Everything is there.
Pascal

Windows 10 Home

Try your luck here:

You’ll want to copy the database and your personal preset and workspace files or folders. The current license file will probably not work on your new computer, you’ll then need to enter the license on first launch.

Hi,

I’m fairly new to DXO, having used it for the past 2-3 years. I’ve been very happy with the colors I can get out of my camera using DXO.

But I recently got a new computer, a MacBook Pro 16" M1 machine. This to replace my 2013 Intel MacBook Pro, which still works but is getting slower.

I have DPL 5 on the old machine, DPL 6 on the new. I have all my photos on an SSD external drive.

I contacted support about what the best way to move my metadata in PhotoLab from the old to the new machine. They said my only recourse was to import the sidecar files, one by one. That’s it.

I’m horrified. I said, what about installing DPL 6 on the old machine, backing up the database, and then restoring that database on the new machine (the exact procedure other software uses for this sort of thing)? They said other customers have tried this and not been happy with the results.

I really only care about editing history. I don’t think I’ve done anything with keywords or ranking, and if I did, it wouldn’t be the worst thing in the world if I lost it. But the editing history I DO care about.