[MAC] Getting rid of searches and all those expanded directories

I tried out the “search” functionality and found it to be next to useless for my purposes.

The problem was, my experiments left me with various unwanted searches at the top of the navigator, that couldn’t be deleted.

Being a macOS programmer, I decided to investigate if there was a way to remove these and I found it!

Warning!!! This is only for the brave and experienced in manipulating .plist files

First, quit DxO.

On a Mac the location of the offending file is ~/Library/Preferences/com.dxo.PhotoLab2.plist

You need to open this in a suitable editor and look for the searchLists key; all you need to do to get rid of all searches is to delete this key.

For those times when DxO keeps on unfolding the navigator every time you open it, even though you painstakingly closed all branches:

In the same file, look for the APPStatusExpandedNodes key and delete all its subkeys. This will leave you with only the Favourites section unfolded to the Home level (at least that’s what happened on my computer)

From then on, you should attempt to never unfold nodes apart from under the Favourites section. The end result is that DxO opens and the navigator is usable in a couple of seconds.

Of course, all this would be unnecessary if DxO provided a simple button to clear searches and either, a “collapse all” button, or to remove expanded folders from the .plist file when they are collapsed.

Upon further investigation, it would appear that, at least after clearing the .plist subkeys, collapsing nodes does now remove them from the .plist file.

Except for the path of the last selected folder, which remains appended to both the Devices and the Favourites paths in the .plist file.

Ultimately, the path to a folder that is no longer visible or selected shouldn’t be appended to the collapsed root folder in the .plist.