Help Spec-ing a new mac 4 PhotoLab 6

Im new to DxO apps coming from LR and Photoshop. I’m ready to update my 2017 iMac Pro and considering a wide range of Mac options from M1 iMac to M1 Mac studio to M2 Mac mini to 16” M2 laptops all with advantages and disadvantages to my needs. I’ll be using a 5k monitor if i don’t go for the M1 iMac which appeals to me for its use of desk space. Cost isn’t an object but i don’t want to spend for the sake of spending. I’m a photography amateur enthusiast with years of experience and a style more reminiscent of Provoke Japanese photography than contemporary sharpness and detail. I’m currently working with Fuji 26mb and Ricoh griiix 24 mb images but I have at times owned high mpx cameras and might again (up to 100mpx). I’m using PhotoLab 6 and film pack 6. I probably don’t work with more than 50 images at time and don’t do bulk export. I’m not asking what I should buy but curious what the above 2 DxO apps require for smooth and instantaneous responses to mucking about and experimenting with the various sliders. I hate fan noise (my iMac Pro fan screams a lot under the 2 apps) so I want to know about number of CPU and GPU cores, how many are necessary, any added benefits to more and how much RAM for smooth work. Any help/suggestions or personal experience would be appreciated!
Eric

Hi and welcome,

I’m not a Mac guy but I’m pretty sure that any of those Macs that you are considering will work very smoothly with PL6 and FP6. I’m not sure about the fan noise or which one would be quieter, but I know that Apple’s Neural Network is capable of processing DPXD files very quickly so I don’t think that any of the M1 or M2 Macs would have a lot of fan noise. Be advised though that currently there is an issue with color rendering with DPXD and the Neural processor, but it will eventually get fixed, probably in one of the next couple of point releases.