I propose that PhotoLab should be enriched with a possibility to

Export to a Project

• the target project can be defined in the export dialogs
  • target projects include
    a) existing projects
    b) new projects

Other functionality as with folders: position target project
a) to an existing project group
b) to an existing project (as a subproject)

Other ideas welcome!

I don’t understand the point of exporting RAWs as JPGs or TIFs to projects within a rather poor DAM? Especially when the database ocassionally gets deleted because of some malfunctions or whatever reason. So the projects would also be lost?

1 Like

I understand that for many the database seems to be an issue. For what it’s worth, I have been using PhotoLab almost every day since Version 1 in 2017 and I have never had any significant issues related to the database.

Mark

Me neither, at least no issues I’m aware of. I just would like to understand the benefit of the feature.

1 Like

I’ve yet to use projects (the dependence on the database has no small role in holding me back). However, I understand the value of them and was surprised to find out that an exported image file has to manually be added post-export to the project one is working in. So this gets my vote.

1 Like

So, do you usually export JPGs or TIFs into the genuine RAW folders? I’m just asking because I keep exported files and RAW archive strictly separated. That way I can always delete the exports (if it’s just the base of panoramas, timelapses, focusstacks and therefore just another intermediate step).

Yes, for now I do all of my work in folders, where I collect all files related to a particular set of photos: RAWs, sidecars, and all exports (from intermediate processing stages and the final output files). When I’m done with the set, I use a file browser to copy the final exports to a collection on another drive and then move the whole work folder to an archive on a third drive. I’m not presently using a DAM, either.