Expensive!

Having trialed the software and watching several tutorials I thought I might make a purchase and checked out the DXO website. Well it seems to purchase Photolab Elite, Filmpack Elite and Viewpoint it would cost a whopping $407.00. That just seems a bit much to me. Guess I will probably do another year of LR Classic. I think the software is very efficient and offers a lot but at this time the price just outweighs the value for me.

Check here: https://shop.dxo.com/en/photo-software/dxo-photo-suite
And yes, get the elite edition. Saves you a later upgrade.

1 Like

The link to the $289 USD offer for the Elite version of the suite is probably the best deal you will find, and for me, it was worth every penny. I’ve been using it since November 2017 and have never regretted it for a moment.

Mark

One thing I don’t get, why VP not part of PL Elite period, every other software as this tool with them, PL is the only one I know who doesn’t include that. I can understand for film pack, if you’re looking for effect.

1 Like

It was at the start (until Optics pro 10) and were separated to keep a low price to PhotoLab.
In the end, the DxO suite is the same price that others software.

I generally agree there should have been at least some basic functionality built into PhotoLab Elite. However, remember that Viewpoint is also a standalone application as well as a plug-in and as such it can be used by non Photolab users. As an example in the past I used Canon’s Digital Photo Professional software (DPP) for much of my post processing work. DPP does not have any perspective controls and the Viewpoint stand-alone app would have been very useful.

Mark.

I for one purchased VP when it became a stand alone/plugin. Since then I have built up my DXO applications to the elite editions of DXO and Film pack when affordable. If not for that method I doubt I would have ever purchased the full blown application.