DxO PhotoLab 4 and Candid Photos

Most of what I’ve been reading in this forum, and the videos I have been watching, and the Webinars is all information on how to make the best possible image, suitable for display, and very likely printing. This means being very careful when taking the photo, and adjusting everything “just so” - optimizing all the PL4 settings for an awesome result.

Something I have been doing since the 1960’s is “candid photography”, trying to capture people just being themselves, at whatever they might have been doing. My 35mm film cameras were great for that, and I read up on how others did it, then tried on my own.

One thing about candid photography - it’s usually a fun thing to do, and while I took some dull, dreary shots, like in the New York City subways, I loved taking photos of people just enjoying themselves.

Nowadays, I find my DSLR cameras to be too big and too prominent to be able to get a candid photo, as people notice the camera and react to it, no longer just being themselves. My old 35mm film cameras were great for this. My Nikon F cameras, and the digital ones that replaced it were too noisy and too big. My Leica M cameras are fine, but I don’t always have them with me. My Fuji X100 cameras were good for this, but only if I was wearing one. In India I finally settled on a Canon G7X Pro Mk II as the perfect camera, because I could carry it on a small case that my belt went through. In India, it got to where I was always taking it with me, unless I wanted to take along something different.