DxO is slow on my high spec laptopp ... why?

I have a windows 11 Alienware laptop with the follow key elements - 12th Gen i9-12900 2.5GHz processor, 64GB RAM, Geforce RTX3080 16GB, 2TB SSD. I’m no expert but I think this would be considered reasonably high spec. Using PL6, images take around 10 seconds to snap into focus before I can even begin to start editing them, and this time doesn’t reduce if I switch between images. Processing also takes a long time to take effect. In contrast, using Capture One there is ZERO delay in images appearing fully in focus, and editing is also a doddle. Can anyone suggest PL6 or laptop settings that I might try to improve this situation?

not normal.
I have a dell xps 17 inch less well off (i7 8giga ram and rtx 3060) and it’s almost instantaneous most of the time (max 1 to 2sec)
contact dxo support to see where the problem comes from (your computer or photolab)

Is Windows configured to be into high performance mode? On laptops, energy settings in most cases are set on some sort of balanced mode to save energy but that limits the performance.

That’s a good tip, thanks, it was on balanced power usage / performance mode. After switching to just performance it has shaved a few seconds off the time it takes for images to snap into focus after editing, but there is still a delay of around 5 seconds. I have raised the same support request with DxO, so they may also have some suggestions as well. I omitted to say that the majority of my photos are from the Fujifilm GFX100S and so are rather large, but that doesn’t in itself account for the delay I’m still experiencing in comparison to using Capture One on the same laptop.

Have you checked your GPU is enabled and that OpenCL acceleration is enabled too? That may help a little more if they aren’t?

1 Like

Another thought, but is the file size (read) a bottleneck? How large are the files you’re loading, and how fast is your SSD?