Developing infrared images

I’m very new to Photolab2, my previous raw developer was Darktable, but i fell in love with Photolab2 Elite Prime denoise feature.
As i shoot many infrared pictures with a converted camera I’m trying to find a workflow to develop them properly in Photolab2.
So far I couldn’t find a way to swap Red and Blue channel that would be the first step to start with.
Could anybody anybody address me to find the right workflow? I didn’t find any tutorial on the web.
Cheers.

I do not shoot infrared but have a look here:

Sigi

What do you mean by this? What is the goal of this operation?

Hi Lucio!

Welcome to the Forum!

I do not shoot with a converted camera - I use a glass infrared filter.

What I have always done, whether in Photoshop or Optics Pro ~ PhotoLab was simply to desaturate the red channel.

Side note on using software “infrared” filters on full color images: While You can definitely get interesting looks (which I have employed many times) it’s not the same as an actual physical barrier to all the other wavelengths in the spectrum being recorded on a sensor.

Original
DSC_1972-600

Red desaturated
DSC_1972_DxO-600

As a joke Christmas Card one year I sent this composite image of my home (it does not snow where I live) taken on the Summer Solstice. Image order as show below (top to bottom):
Color image, desaturated red channel Infrared image (glass filter), Composite

I first tried various “infrared” software filters (though not “Color Efex”) which were no comparison to the physical glass infrared filter - not even close.

2 Likes

To get the infrared effect you have to set: [red 0% - blue 100% in the red channel] and [blue 0% - red 100% in the blue channel] this procedure is called “channel swap”

Thank you.
This is a software to mimic the infrared effect in a picture shot in the visible wave length.
My camera shoots infrared picture with a wavelength cut at 720nm

Thanks for the prompt answer, mine is a bit late indeed.