Automatic corrections applied even though "No Correction" preset selected

Hello,

I’m new to DXO Photolab, trying to make a switch from Lightroom.

One thing I cannot figure out is:

• When I select a photo in the Customize tab, there will be a short loading after which the program will apply some corrections to the image, resulting in a more contrasty/vibrant photo
  • In the PreferencesCorrection Settings, I have the RAW and RBG images set to “No Correction”, yet some correction is still being applied
  • Are there any other settings I should be aware of that control this behaviour? I would like to start the editing with a “raw”, unedited image

Please let me know if you’ve had similar experience and know how to fully turn off these automatic corrections.

Thank you

1 Like

What you are seeing is not “corrections” but simply the process of demosaïcing. What you see to start with is the JPEG preview, followed by the demosaïced image.

Be assured you are dealing with the RAW image.

Yes, this is how I find photolab demosaicer behave with no correction for my camera. To contrasty, to vibrant, and with some kind of color shift.
I now generally begin with neutral color realistic tonality (in color rendering tab - I have a nikon camera, I don’t know what curve you can use with your body), and tweak the intensity as starting point. Combined with exposure compensation/contrast/selective tone/tone curve/color accentuation help getting better values. I tend to avoid smart lighting because I prefer to choose rather than letting the software to choose for me, but sometime it allows to achieve thing hard to do otherwise.
This is the best I found (for now) to try to keep more natural and subtil color than photolab provides by default.