Auto Function in Version 4

I’m a real estate photographer and have been using ViewPoint for about a year. It’s really made getting verticals correct, really easy and quick. I noticed that something was off after installing v4.

With version 3 I was getting about a 90% rate on using auto. Very rarely did I have to go in and set verticals manually. With version 4, my success rate is around 40%.

I was curious if anyone else has noticed the change.

1 Like

Hi Brett and welcome,

I haven’t noticed any decrease in the “hit-rate” for the auto-perspective function. Are you using VP4 as a standalone or as integrated within Photolab? Also, what platform are you on, Windows or Mac?

I’ve noticed it struggles a bit with certain photos that have rather obvious verticals and horizontals, and have reported that to DxO for consideration. (I don’t know if they’ll reply.) But I haven’t tested the same photo between VP3 and VP4 to see if there’s any actual degradation of the detection algorithm. If you can do that, I’d love to know the results. (I’ll look for an opportunity myself, but that might take a while.)

The photos I’m giving VP4 right now are complex with a need for perspective correction in both the foreground and the background, plus many verticals that simply can’t line up parallel. So I often have to tweak the auto-correction and make compromises. But now we also have the ReShape Tool!!! It has its flaws, but it’s a great addition to VP4 for complex geometry and most especially for filling in the areas of the image frame that become black through perspective and horizon correction. :heart_eyes: