Adobe Bridge Photolab 4 workflow

Hi all, I’m a PL newbie having just purchased PL4 and Nik collection.

Coming from ON1 Photo Raw, also own Photoshop CS6 and Topaz DeNoise.

Trying to figure out the best workflow for rating and exporting images.

I am saving Raw files like this:

2021-03-18 ¦ Subject
2021-03-19 ¦ Subject

Previously I culled and rated in ON1 and only created jpegs when I needed them and treated them as disposable. As far as I was concerned the process image in ON1 was the final step and colour coded green.

I feel that I need a different approach with PL4 as ratings and keywords created in PL4 are not visible outside PL4 and colour coding does not exist.

I have only been using Adobe Bridge for a few days and am quite impressed with it’s capabilities so I think I need to do all my rating, colour coding and keywording in Bridge (until DXO incorporates this functionality in PL4).

Seeking advice as to how others manage this combination.

1 Do you create a finalised Jpeg or Tiff and do you store it in the same folder as the Raw files or somewhere else.

2 How do you indicate finalised files

1. If you use multiple Nik Collections, do you create a single or multiple TIFFs

Any suggestions or pointers to documentation or youtube videos would be appreciated.

Sounds good. PhotoLab can read metadata from .xmp sidecars and from within files, it cannot write back to .xmp sidecars though. I’d keep separated the DAM and development steps as you propose.

I use jpeg or tiff according to what I need. I usually don’t keep the files, they can be recreated in PhotoLab - using its database or .dop sidecar files.

I export finalised files to a dedicated folder and delete the finalised files after use.