A hobbyist’s workflow

Hey guys

I am just a hobbyist and therefore only manage photos in the few Hundreds per year which is why I so far organized them on a hard disk without relying on additional photo management software, occasionally uploading several photos to flickr for the very purpose of sharing them. As my library is growing larger and my brain is getting weaker, I am now trying to find a better way of organizing my photo library with the following goals/requirements:

• DxO PhotoLab has to be the RAW converter
  • possibility to more effectively search my photo library (e.g. by keyword)
  • ubiquity - access to all photos on any device from anywhere without relying on a 3rd party cloud service

So I developed the following workflow:

• use Qfiling app to ”import” photos to personal QNAP NAS
  • use DxO PhotoLab for RAW conversion and basic photo organization/tagging
  • use QuMagie as a web based photo viewer with A.I. assisted cataloging and sophisticated search

I will detail my workflow in the following and would love to hear you guys’ opinions on it. One discussion I would like to prevent is data safety and security. Setting up and properly administering a personal data storage (and even cloud) solution certainly requires quite some IT knowledge.

(1) Import: QNAP Qfiling

On my QNAP NAS I did set up a shared folder called Photos. When plugging my camera into the USB port of the NAS, a Qfiling task copies all stored photos to the Photos\RAW subfolder, automatically creating a folder structure based on the photos’ creation dates (which is equal to the date in EXIF’s CreateDate field), like:

> Photos
  > RAW
    > 2019-12-24
      DSC_0001.nef
      DSC_0002.nef
    > 2019-12-25
      DSC_0003.nef
      DSC_0004.nef

Qfiling can take into account several EXIF and IPTC tags for automatically building the folder structure and renaming files in batches.

(2) Cull, Tag & Edit: DxO PhotoLab